The ARCAID project has recruited all 20 fellows. All research projects are described here, and links to full descriptions are given. Our first candidate started January 1st 2020, and all candidates have now started their projects, although due to the COVID-19 situation, some started from a distance. The updates on the projects and the results will be described on this page, in due time.

The first papers have already been published;

  • IgG Subclasses Shape Cytokine Responses by Human Myeloid Immune Cells through Differential Metabolic Reprogramming. Willianne Hoepel, Sona Allahverdiyeva, Haneen Harbiye, Steven W. de Taeye, Alwin J. van der Ham, Leonie de Boer,Sebastiaan A. J. Zaat,Michel van Weeghel, Dominique L. P. Baeten, Riekelt H. Houtkooper, Bart Everts, Gestur Vidarsson and Jeroen den Dunnen. The Journal of Immunology, 2020, 205: 000–000, doi:10.4049/jimmunol.2000263.
  • Larsen MD, de Graaf EL, Sonneveld ME, Plomp HR, Nouta J, Hoepel W, Chen HJ, Linty F, Visser R, Brinkhaus M, Šuštić T, de Taeye SW, Bentlage AEH, Toivonen S, Koeleman CAM, Sainio S, Kootstra NA, Brouwer PJM, Geyer CE, Derksen NIL, Wolbink G, de Winther M, Sanders RW, van Gils MJ, de Bruin S, Vlaar APJ; Amsterdam UMC COVID-19 biobank study group, Rispens T, den Dunnen J, Zaaijer HL, Wuhrer M, Ellen van der Schoot C, Vidarsson G. Afucosylated IgG characterizes enveloped viral responses and correlates with COVID-19 severity. Science. 2020 Dec 23:eabc8378. doi: 10.1126/science.abc8378. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 33361116.
  • High titers and aberrant glycosylation of early phase anti-SARS-CoV-2 IgG promote hyper-inflammation by alveolar macrophages. Willianne Hoepel, Hung-Jen Chen, Chiara E. Geyer, Sona Allahverdiyeva, Xue D. Manz, Steven W. de Taeye, Jurjan Aman, Guillermo R. Griffith, Peter I. Bonta, Philip J.M. Brouwer, Tom G. Caniels, Maurice Steenhuis, Karlijn van der Straten, Korneliusz Golebski, René E. Jonkers, Mads Larsen, Federica Linty, Jan Nouta, Cindy P.A.A. van Roomen, Frank E.H.P. van Baarle, Amsterdam UMC COVID-19 Biobank, Cornelis M. van Drunen, Alexander P.J. Vlaar, Godelieve J. de Bree, Rogier W. Sanders, Lisa Willemsen, Annette E. Neele, Theo Rispens, Manfred Wuhrer, Harm Jan Bogaard, Marit J. van Gils, Gestur Vidarsson, Menno de Winther, Jeroen den Dunnen. (Under revision)